Home » Uncategorized » Of Minions and Murals

Of Minions and Murals

The days are so jam-packed and I feel like I have learned so much already, and it has been less than 48 hours on the campus. Today we saw the first news team pitch ideas, which was really neat because I got experience how a real newsroom functions daily. Then we headed to the Digital Media Room where we talked about developing story ideas. There are so many angles that could be taken on one event. It goes to show you that news is everywhere, and there is always a story. Always. We then got to walk around the campus to search for some story ideas. I have to say, that was really fun, despite the dreadful heat. I saw an abnormally large stuffed “Despicable Me” minion looking out of a dorm in Taylor Place. Yeah, it kinda made my day.

The minion at Taylor Place

The minion at Taylor Place

As we walked down the hot sidewalks of downtown Phoenix, we came across a Youth Theatre, murals, and building construction that all sparked some sort of story idea.

A mural on the side of the Youth Theatre

A mural on the side of the Youth Theatre

The Youth Theatre

The Youth Theatre

Walking through downtown Phoenix looking for stories!

Walking through downtown Phoenix looking for stories!

Then we gratefully came back into the air-conditioned Cronkite building. There we pitched story ideas, and assigned editor positions. I am photo editor! I know a decent amount of Photoshop, so I feel fit for the position!

View from the Digital Media Room

View from the Digital Media Room

At lunch. there was PUDDING. I kind of love pudding…secret obsessions…everyone has them.

After lunch, we heard from Kristy Roschke, a Cronkite Adjunct Faculty Member, about Web news. Our school newspaper has a website (I was one of the people to start up our online site this year) but it was helpful to look at the structure of the sites and what is appealing to people. It was also new for me to learn about how there is different formats of the news online sites for different sized devices. She also introduced us to DaFont and I hope to use it for our newspaper next year!

Posted by Erin O’Neill

Then we headed back to the Digital Media room to pick stories and start to develop an angle and some questions. I am siked about my story (I’m not telling…it’s a surprise!), and I can’t wait to go out and start reporting!

IMG_1627

And to top the day off, we jellyfish gazed for a while.

Well that’s one thing off my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

